Zenobia - CD
Home Page | Newest Releases
More music from Denmark
Search for music
Need Help?

cd cover Zenobia
Blot en ild (Merely a Fire) (Go' Danish Folk Music)
cdRoots Code: go-0217

The 2017 release by this Danish trio of women is an elegant set of 16 instrumental compositons and lyrical songs, some from classical texts, all original music set for accordion, piano and voices. The booklet contains full lyrics in Danish, and a synopsis of each song in English.

"I Danmark er jeg født"


"Mæt af dage"


More info:
Blot en ild (Merely a Fire)
The impetus to arrange a bouquet of new melodies, lyrics and musical pieces was at the heart of the vision to celebrate the trios ten-year anniversary of playing together in 2017. The music is all written exclusively by the ladies of Zenobia. The lyrics in Blot en Ild are parts of classic texts that have been combined with new melodies. In Kai Hoffmans 'Den danske sang er en ung blond pige'; and H.C. Andersen's 'I Danmark er jeg født' one will find a new approach that has the intent to invite listeners to contemplate the meaning behind the lyrics once again. There are also newly written verses by Benny Holst, and by Zenobia's author on previous productions, Martin Rauff-Nielsen, to be found on the record.
    All Tracks:
  • 1) Døber, sanger, knægte, flammer 3.27
  • 2) Blot en ild? 2.31
  • 3) Sprogø 3.34
  • 4) I Danmark er jeg født 3.33
  • 5) Barbara Avenue, San Diego 1.51
  • 6) Ensomme æblers land 2.00
  • 7) En rose og en tjørn 2.39
  • 8) Sangen 2.45
  • 9) Fredag 3.17
  • 10) Mæt af dage 2.21
  • 11) Bænkmandens gåde 4.16
  • 12) Gale onsdag 4.51
  • 13) Johs’ bryllupsvals 2.37
  • 14) Den danske sang 3.06
  • 15) Sommersang om valmuer 2.33
  • 16) Vuggevise 3.11
Trioen Zenobia har indtaget den danske musikscene med forførende og stemningsfyldte fortolkninger af den danske sangskat. Udgivelsen af CD'en er Zenobias fejring af trioens 10 års jubilæum i 2017. Musikken på CD'en er skrevet af trioen selv. Teksterne på 'Blot en ild' er dels klassiske tekster der har fået nye melodier: Kai Hoffmans 'Den danske sang er en ung blond pige' og H.C. Andersens 'I Danmark er jeg født' findes her begge i helt nye rammer, med ønsket om at indbyde til genlyt af ord, der ofte tages for givet. Men der er også nyskrevne vers af Benny Holst, og af Zenobias tekstforfatter på tidligere udgivelser, Martin Rauff-Nielsen, at finde på pladen.

Your orders are placed on a secure server, so your information is safe and private.

Please note!
Most CDs have been imported from Europe or Asia. They are not all shrink-wrapped, and I am not going to con you by wrapping them here just to make you think they have been sterilized in America. We guarantee that the CDs and the contents are all brand new and in perfect condition. Whenever I can, I use recycled shipping materials. They may not look as pretty on the outside, but they save money and keep the trash dumps a little bit emptier.
All contents of these web pages ©2001-2016 FNI Multimedia / cdRoots unless otherwise stated.
All sound files and images are the property of the artists and record labels, and are used with their express permission.
Please do not use these files without contacting the appropriate copyright holders.