Search for music
Shipping and Other Questions?

Folk Music in Sweden Series
Unique recordings of Swedish folk music which present the country's musical heritage in all its breadth and richness. This series is of high value both the those with a professional interest as well as listeners just searching for the roots of the Swedish folk movement. English notes are included. See a listing of the entire series

Volume 16 and 17
Folk Tunes from Rättvik, Boda and Bingsjö (2 CDs)

Performers: Andersson, Blank Karl (1896 - 1970) / Blank, Anders (1904 - 1980) / Eriksson, Petters Erik (1899 - 1976) / Andersson, Röjås Erik (1876 - 1948) / Röjås, Jonas (1921 - 1989)

Rättvik, Boda & Bingsjö in the province of Dalarna are communities oozing with music, where strong musical personalities have always made their presence felt - as they still do. The playing in Rättvik is said to be varied, with stylistic centres in villages such as Östbjörka, Blecket and Vikarbyn. In boda the polskas are of a light, dancing nature, with the emphasis on the quaver polska. Bingsjö playing, on the other hand, is referred to as rich and gracious. Say what one will of these generalisations, one thing is certain: Rättvik, Boda and Bingsjö contain a variety of not found anywhere else in Sweden. On this double CD we hear Pers Erik and Pers Hans, Göras Anders and Leif Göras, Petters Erik, Påhl Olle, Blank Kalle and Blank Anders, Röjås Erik the elder and the younger, Röjås Jonas, Päckos Helmer, Pekkos Gustaf and Nils Agenmark. There are also some polska dillles, with Kerstin Nord, Nygårds Kersti and Finn Jonas. All the material were recorded between 1947 and 1983.

Track Listings
1 CD 1:1 Brudmarsch efter far
2 CD 1:2 Polska efter Sjöns far, Blecket
3 CD 1:3 Polska
4 CD 1:4 Bröllopspolska
5 CD 1:5 Gånglåt
6 CD 1:6 Sarkofagmarschen
7 CD 1:7 Polska
8 CD 1:8 Polska
9 CD 1:9 Polska efter morbror Blank Hans
10 CD 1:10 Polska efter mormor
11 CD 1:11 Polska efter Ris Kersti, Blecket
12 CD 1:12 Orbergs Kerstis polska
13 CD 1:13 Polska efter mor
14 CD 1:14 Polska efter mor
15 CD 1:15 Vismelodi
16 CD 1:16 Polska efter morbror Blank Hans
17 CD 1:17 Danspolska från Blecket efter Erik Sten
18 CD 1:18 Polska efter Ris Kersti, Blecket
19 CD 1:19 Steklåt efter mofar
20 CD 1:20 Polska efter morfar
21 CD 1:21 Polska efter morfar
22 CD 1:22 Vispolska efter morfar "Jag ser på dina ögon"
23 CD 1:23 Polska efter farbror
24 CD 1:24 Polska efter Karls Anders i Backa
25 CD 1:25 Polska efter mofar
26 CD 1:26 Polska efter morfar
27 CD 1:27 Vispolska efter morfar
28 CD 1:28 Polska efter Åman Jon i Östbjörka
29 CD 1:29 Polska
30 CD 1:30 Polska efter Ris Kersti, Blecket

Credit card orders are placed on a secure server.

Please note!
Most CDs have been imported from Europe or Asia. They are not all shrink-wrapped, and I am not going to con you by wrapping them here just to make you think they have been sterilized in America. We guarantee that the CDs and the contents are all brand new and in perfect condition. Whenever I can, I use recycled shipping materials. They may not look as pretty on the outside, but they save money and keep the trash dumps a little bit emptier.